Achieving excellence in teaching and research

College of Science faculty members are leaders in their fields who are passionate about sharing their knowledge with their students while helping them to become leaders of the next generation of scientists. Many are internationally renowned for their expertise and their important contributions to science. We have 155 faculty members in our six departments, many of whom have received accolades for their excellence in teaching, research, mentoring and service from state, national and international organizations.

Our faculty includes a member of the National Academy of Sciences, four members of the National Academy of Inventors as well as Fellows in numerous prestigious national and international science organizations including the American Chemical Society, the American Physical Society, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Geological Society of America, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT), and the Electrochemical Society, among others. Many have also received awards and honors for their teaching, research and mentoring from UTA.

Numerous faculty members in each of our departments have active research programs. The College of Science had $21.3 million in total research expenditures in 2016; in the past four years, the total is $72 million. Our faculty members’ innovative research projects are funded by sources including the National Science Foundation (NSF), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), NASA, the U.S. Department of Defense, the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT), and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB), among others.

The contributions of our faculty members in the lab and in the classroom are advancing the frontiers of science and imparting in our students the knowledge and experience they need to stand out as job candidates in the STEM workforce.