Skip to content

The University of Texas at ArlingtonThe University of Texas at Arlington

College of Science

ACES Research Symposium

ACES Research Symposium - College of Science

Friday, April 12, 2019
8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Chemistry & Physics Building (CPB)
Chemistry Research Building (CRB)

The ACES (Annual Celebration of Excellence by Students) symposium has a long-standing history at UTA as a way for students to showcase their research accomplishments. Historically this was a University-wide event, but last year, each of the colleges organized their own events. We invite everyone to join us for the 2nd annual College of Science ACES symposium on April 12! All College of Science undergraduate and graduate students are eligible to participate. The event is open to the public. Students can click the link below to submit project abstracts.

Abstract submissions for ACES 2019 are now closed.

Guests who wish to attend are asked to RSVP at the link below (participants must submit abstracts but do not need to RSVP). The event is open to the public. Parking and lunch will be provided to those that RSVP and indicate they need parking.

RSVP for Guest Attendees

Judges are needed! To volunteer to serve as a judge, please send an email to Alejandro Bugarin, assistant professor of chemistry & biochemistry, at

COS ACES will be primarily based on poster presentations, but each department will select one graduate feature oral presentation. Cash prizes will be awarded for best posters and oral presentations. Oral presentation winners will be chosen by an audience ballot, so students in each department are encouraged to come and support their peers! Posters will be judged by a selection of guests, faculty, and post-doctoral fellows.

Poster format
Each poster presenter will be allocated a 48” x 48” space. Please prepare and print your poster so that it fits in the allocated space. Presenters should check in (CPB atrium) between 8-9 a.m. on April 12. Posters should all be displayed by 9 a.m. on April 12, and should remain displayed until lunchtime. Presenters will be notified following completion of the abstract submission process about the session in which they will present.





8 am

Registration open (all attendees check in)

CPB atrium (1st floor)

8:30 am

Judges training (breakfast provided for judges starting at 8 am)

LS 128

9 – 10 am

Undergraduate poster session (all submitted poster abstracts accepted; poster numbers assigned at check-in); posters should be posted by 9 am and remain posted until 12 noon)

CRB Hall     (1st and 2nd floors)

10 – 12 pm

Graduate poster session (all submitted poster abstracts accepted; poster numbers assigned at check-in); posters should be posted by 9 am and remain posted until 12 noon)

CPB atrium/halls

12 pm

Lunch (all presenters and RSVP’d guests)

CPB atrium

1 – 2 pm

Undergraduate poster awards and Keynote lecture by Dr. Belinda Gist, Kite Pharma

CPB planetarium

2:20 – 4:20 pm

Selected graduate student orals

2:20 – 2:40, Saurabh Kokane (Psychology)

2:40 – 3:00, Edan Bainglass (Physics)

3:00 – 3:20, Ravi Singh (Chemistry and Biochemistry)

3:20 – 3:40, Blair Perry (Biology)

3:40 – 4:00, Mayowa Olawoyin (Mathematics)

4:00 – 4:20, Lu Zhu (Earth and Environmental Sciences)

CPB planetarium

4:30 – 6 pm

Reception and graduate student awards

Planetarium Lobby

Keynote speaker

Belinda Gist, Ph.D.

Dr. Gist received her B.S. in Environmental and Forest Biology from the State University of New York, College of Environmental Science and Technology. She received her Ph.D. in Biology from the State University of New York Upstate Medical University. She is currently Director of Medical Affairs for Kite Pharma. Previous employers include EMD Serrano (Director of Medical Education), Genzyme (Director of MSL Training) and Biogen Idec, where she held the positions of Director of Medical Education and Grants; Senior Manager, Associate Director, Medical Education and Grants, and Medical Education and Training. She is a member of the Arlington Sunrise Rotary Club, Theatre Arlington, and the UTA College of Science Advisory Council.

2019 Sponsors
Restek Logo Shimadzu Logo