Licensure Disclosure

The College of Architecture, Planning and Public Affairs curricula fulfills the academic requirements necessary to attain professional licensure within these disciplines. Upon successful completion of the degree program, graduates must complete the required work experience and other criteria as established by the respective state licensing boards to then be eligible to sit for professional licensure examinations.

Within CAPPA the following are accredited, professional degree programs that fulfill the academic requirement in the path toward licensure:          

Bachelor of Science in Interior Design
Master of Architecture, Paths A and B
Master of Landscape Architecture
Master of City and Regional Planning
Master of Public Administration

Statement on NAAB-Accredited Degrees

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year term, an eight-year term with conditions, or a two-year term of continuing accreditation, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established education standards.
Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a non-accredited undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the non-accredited degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The UTA School of Architecture offers the following NAAB-Accredited Degree Programs

Master of Architecture PATH A: 104 credit hours; requires a 4-year bachelors degree
Master of Architecture PATH B: 57 credit hours; requires a 4-year pre-professional degree in architecture 

The next accreditation visit for these programs will be in Fall 2025.


Recent NAAB Reports
Architecture Program Report, March 3, 2016
Visiting Team Report, October 12, 2016
NAAB decision Letter, March 9, 2017

NCARB ARE Pass Rates
ARE 5.0 Pass Rates by School

Access to NAAB Conditions and Procedures for Accreditation 
Conditions for Accreditation, 2020 Edition  
Procedures for Accreditation, 2020 Edition
Conditions for Accreditation, 2014 Edition 
Procedures for Accreditation 2015 Edition

Statement and/or Policies on Learning and Teaching Culture
School of Architecture Studio Culture Policy

Statement and/or Policies on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
The University of Texas Arlington promotes lifelong learning through its academic, continuing education, and experiential learning programs. The faculty, staff, and student community share diverse cultural values that foster inclusivity and cultivate mutual respect.  In accordance with federal and state law, the University prohibits unlawful discrimination, including harassment, on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation, pregnancy, disability, genetic information, and/or veteran status.  The University also prohibits discrimination on the basis of gender identity, and gender expression. 

The School of Architecture supports its diverse student body, and creates a campus of inclusiveness, through recruitment efforts, retention policies, and support for student success of the many cultural, religious/spiritual, and identity groups comprising the society we serve.  Efforts to achieve these intentions are consistent with the laws of the State of Texas and University policy. 

Additional information can be found at:
Intercultural Student Engagement Center - Student Affairs - The University of Texas at Arlington (