Planning and Public Affairs Scholarships

Internal (UT Arlington) Scholarships Students must be in good academic standing with the University of Texas at Arlington and meet all entrance scholarship eligibility requirements.

New External Scholarship

Sumners Foundation Scholarship

This scholarship is for rising Juniors going to a 4-year college or university in either Texas or Oklahoma. Students must be US citizens and have a permanent residence in TX, OK, NM, MO, KS, AR, NE, or LA. 

Applications can be submitted on our website and are due April 10 at 5:00 PM. Interviews will be conducted in May 2021.

Direct contact

Sumners Foundation Scholarship

Internal (UT Arlington) Scholarships

Several scholarships have been established at the University to enhance academic opportunities for Planning and Public Affairs students. Students must be in good academic standing with the University of Texas at Arlington and meet all entrance scholarship eligibility requirements.

Applications and criteria for all Planning and Public Affairs scholarships awarded by the University are managed in the MavScholarShop. A full listing of UTA scholarships and application instructions are found at

Planning and Public Affairs Scholarships

The David and Jerry Tees Endowed Scholarship was established by former School of Urban and Public Affairs Director of Training and Services David Tees and his wife, Jerry, to provide scholarships to full-time students pursuing a graduate degree in the Masters of Public Affairs program at UTA.

Applicants must be enrolled full time in the Masters of Public Affairs program, have expressed an interest in pursuing public service careers, have completed at least one semester of coursework and maintained a minimum GPA of 3.0, and can demonstrate financial need.

The Dr. Paul Geisel Endowed Scholarship was established in honor of Professor Emeritus Paul Geisel who was a founding faculty member of the former School of Urban and Public Affairs. Applicants must meet requirements for the College of Architecture, Planning and Public Affairs’ (CAPPA). Scholarship committee will take into account student need as well as potential for contributing to the urban environment.

The George C. Campbell Endowed Scholarship  honors George C. Campbell for his 30-year career in public administration and his service to the cities of Lubbock, Coppell, Weatherford, and Arlington, Texas. Applicants must meet entry requirements for the College of Architecture, Planning and Public Affairs (CAPPA) and be seeking careers in Public Administration.

Preference is given to those seeking careers in city management. Applicants must be graduated from an accredited high school in the United States.

The John W. Jackson, Jr. Endowed Scholarship provides support to graduate students enrolled in the planning, urban and public affairs programs at UTA. Financial need shall be a primary criterion in selecting scholarship recipients. Established by the Texas Chapter of the American Planning Association in memory of John W. Jackson Jr. who received his Master of City and Regional Planning degree from UTA in 1981. He was a member of the American Institute of Certified Planners and was very active with the TxAPA.

The Nancy L. and Edward S. Overman Fellowship was established to honor Dr. Edward Overman, the first director of the Institute for Urban Studies. Scholarships will support full time students pursuing a Master’s Degree within the College of Architecture, Planning and Public Affairs’ (CAPPA) Department of Public Affairs.

Preference will be given to students working within the CAPPA Institute of Urban Studies. Scholarship recipients may reapply for one subsequent year, provided they remain in good standing at the University. Reapplying students will be given priority over new applicants. No student can hold this scholarship for more than two years.

Included in the criteria for awarding this scholarship is "Demonstrated Financial Need" which requires the completion of the free application for federal student aid (FAFSA). If you have not completed this form, please go to the Financial Aid page for further information and assistance.

The Trey and Shana Yelverton Endowed Scholarship was established by Trey and Shana Yelverton for students who show promise in public service and who have demonstrated significant extracurricular service.

Preference shall be given to an undergraduate or graduate student who is pursing studies in public administration or urban affairs; lives on campus and has an exemplary depth of student activity/service, OR a graduate student who was an undergraduate at UT Arlington and has demonstrated an extracurricular resume of outstanding service to the University.