College of Engineering Board of Advisors

Board of Advisors

The College of Engineering Board of Advisors is a diverse group of volunteer leaders from business, academia, government agencies, and the community who advise and assist the College in creating and sustaining a pre-eminent institution of engineering education, research, and service. Board members are keenly interested in promoting cutting-edge research programs and in addressing engineering education issues – from preparing high school students to succeed in college to graduating outstanding engineers who will lead Texas in the high-technology economy.

Members provide counsel to the Dean of the College, the faculty, and staff on strategy, important issues affecting the future of the college, programs, and external affairs. They engage in and assist with fund raising efforts to ensure excellence in programs and operations.


Engaging the Community

Board members help the College develop contacts in the business and industrial community, within the state, nationally and internationally to support research, education and outreach efforts. Board members also assist the College in identifying and securing major gift opportunities by providing introductions to individuals that could be instrumental in advancing the College.

Being a Resource

Board members serve as a resource for expert consultation and perspective in support of the College vision by engaging in dialog with the Dean and the College leadership so that the College can intelligently plan long term strategies. Board members provide advice and act as a sounding board on a range of topics including College priorities, strategies, educational programs, research themes, partnerships, outreach, and curricula innovation (but not detailed curricula issues that would be discussed in the departmental advisory boards). Board members provide resources directly to the College at whatever level seems appropriate to them, while aiming for 100% participation by Board members.

Advocating for the College of Engineering

Board members advocate on behalf of the priorities of the College as established by the Dean. Board members will become better informed about the intricacies of the College, how it operates within the University and its programs in order to become better advocates for the Dean and the College with the University administration, the Texas Legislature and other entities with which the College wishes to form relations.

Board Members

  • Peter Adejokun '87, '90 - Software Engineer, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics
  • Mansoor Ahsan - CEO, Bridgefarmer
  • Marvin Applewhite, Ph.D. (BS '64) - Sr. Vice President, Texas Instruments (Ret.)
  • Paul Arrendell '88, '91 - Worldwide Vice President, Quality and Regulatory Management, Jabil, Inc.
  • Anthony Baker - Vice President of Customer Support, Airbus Helicopters North America
  • Johnny M. Barrett '67 - Engineering Manager, Raytheon Company (Ret.)
  • Anthony Baker - Airbus Helicopters
  • Gloria Bender '82, '88 - Owner, TransSolutions LLC
  • Walt Cabe - Sr. Account Manager, Blue Yonder
  • Bill Carroll - Professor, Computer Science and Engineering Department, UTA (Emeritus Board Member)
  • Brian Coltharp '92 - President and CEO, Freese & Nichols, Inc.
  • Ronald Cross - Sr. Lecturer, UTA Computer Science and Engineering Department
  • E. Glenn Gaustad, Ph.D. (BSEE '61) - Manager, G&G Techcon, Ltd. (Ret.)
  • Don Glenn '85, '89 - Vice President, Transportation and Infrastructure, RS&H, Inc.
  • Robert Gnuse '70, '74 - Partner, Leading the Way, LLC
  • Srinivas Gorty - Founder, Verge Ventures
  • Mike Greene '69 - Vice Chairman, Energy Future Holdings Corp. (Ret.)
  • Jim Greer, P.E. '84 - Executive Vice President and COO, Oncor Electric Delivery Company, LLC
  • Ken C. Hall, P.E., '86 - Water Market Leader, TX/OK, Jacobs Engineering Group Inc.
  • Mike Hawkins '83 - President, Alpine Link Corporation
  • Cork Jaeger Jr - President and CEO, The Fairmount Company
  • Khurram Jameel '05 - Managing Director and CEO, Siemens Healthineers
  • Geralyn Kever - Consultant
  • Jason Losh, Ph.D. '88, '89, '94 - Professor in Practice, UTA Computer Science and Engineering Department
  • Linda McCalla, Ph.D. (BS mathematics '68) - Director, Software Core Competency, Texas Instruments (Ret.; Emerita Board Member)
  • Rusty Mensch - President, CFD International
  • Dick Moeller '67 - President, Water to Thrive/Enovate Enterprises
  • Vijai Mohan '02, '04 - Software Engineering, Pinterest
  • Eric Murrell '87 - Director of Ecosystem Development, Open Networking Foundation
  • Rosa Navejar - President, The Rios Group, Inc.
  • Adrian Roji '90 - Sr. Vice President and General Manager, Galatea Surgical, Inc.
  • Steven D. Sanders, P.E., Ph.D. (MSCE '84, MBA '90) - Executive Vice President, Burgess & Niple
  • Eric Schrock - F-35 Program Chief of Staff, Lockheed Martin Skunk Works
  • Sushil Sharma '01 - Chief Product Officer, LendingTree
  • Jeff Smith, Ph.D. (MSCSE '88, Ph.D. '04) - Founder and Managing Partner, Quantum IOT
  • Donny Stanton '84 - President, Testech
  • Lawrence W. Stephens '72, '79 - Technical Director, Advanced Programs and Special Programs, Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control
  • Michael Thacker - Executive Vice President of Technology and Innovation, Bell Flight
  • Evelyn Torres - CEO, Solaris Technology Services
  • Gary K. Trietsch, P.E., '70, '74 - Executive Director, Harris County Toll Road Authority (Ret.)
  • Ezinne Udezue '99 - Vice President, Product Management, Procore Technologies
  • Hari Vasudevan '05 - CEO, Think Power Solutions
  • David Wallace, Ph.D. '87 - Vice President, Technology and Development, MicroFab Technologies, Inc.
  • Keith D. Weiss '73 - Six Sigma Master Expert, Raytheon Corporation (Ret.)

COE Mission, Vision, and Goals

COE Mission

Serve industry, government and academia through leadership in education, innovation and entrepreneurship to improve quality of life in Texas and beyond.

COE Vision

Be a global leader for transformative research and education.

COE Goals

  • Build an effective alumni organization
  • Grow enrollment to 10,000 by 2020
  • Increase external research expenditures in line with benchmark institutions
  • Significantly enhance the college's philanthropic fundraising functions
  • Improve the student experience, especially for undergraduate students in good standing
  • Build college institutional relationships with community stakeholders
  • Develop distinctive educational programs, especially for undergraduate students