Celebrating More Than 50 years of Social Work Education Excellence


The School of Social Work was founded in 1967 with the establishment of the Masters of Science in Social Work (MSSW) program. The School admitted its first class in 1968, and the MSSW program was accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) in 1970.

The Bachelors of Social Work (BSW) degree was founded in 1979 under the auspices of the Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work and accredited in 1982.

The Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Social Work degree program was initiated in 1983. Prior to 1983, the Graduate School of Social Work, the College of Business Administration, and the Institute of Urban Studies, were jointly involved in operating an interdisciplinary Ph.D. in Administration degree program.

On September 1, 1991, subsequent to the issuance of a report by the Joint Committee for the Study of Relations Between the Graduate and Undergraduate Social Work Programs, the BSW and MSSW programs were brought together into a unified administrative and academic unit, the School of Social Work.

In 1997 the School started a dual Ph.D. in International Comparative Social Welfare with the Universidad Autónoma De Nuevo León in Monterrey, Mexico to provide the first Ph.D. program in Social Work in Mexico. This program was made possible as a result of the initiative, vision, and support of the administration of both universities, the school's deans at the time, and the social work faculty of both institutions.

Today, the School of Social Work at The University of Texas at Arlington is home to two research and training site:

History of the UTA School of Social Work

History of the UTA School of Social Work