Academic Standing

Academic Standing Categories

Academic Good Standing

Students who have a 2.0 GPA or above at UT Arlington are considered in good standing and can continue to take courses without penalty.  However, it is important to keep in mind that individual departments may have higher GPA thresholds to remain in a particular major, to take advanced course work, or even to graduate with a degree in that major.  Refer to the appropriate school or college in the Academic Programs and Degree Offerings section of the Undergraduate Catalog for these GPA requirements, or you may speak with your academic advisor.

Academic Probation

Guide for Students on Academic Probation


Academic Warning

Guide for Students on Academic Warning

  academic warning

Academic Continuance

Guide for Students on Academic Continuance


Academic Dismissal Guide (Dismissals 1 and 2)

Dismissal 1 and 2 Guide (download and fill out)



Early Readmission Appeal Process and Form


Early Readmission Appeal from Academic Dismissal Process 

Early Readmission Appeal Form (download and fill out)




Return from Dismissal 2


Return from Dismissal 2 Form 







Readmission from Dismissal 2 Form - AO Students 











**Note:  While this informational site is supported by the University Advising Center, students should seek advisement for their academic issues through the advising process in their major department.  If a student is a freshman or Undeclared, the University Advising Center in Ransom Hall will provide the advising.  The information on this web site should not be used as a replacement for the Undergraduate Catalog or proper academic advisement.

All students should thoroughly read the Academic Probation and Dismissal section of the Academic Regulations in the Undergraduate Catalog.  Students should also become familiar with the Table of Standards.  Students who fall below the UTA Table of Standards will be placed on probation or warning (as appropriate) and may face dismissal from the University if the GPA is not raised to meet the required standards.